the board of directors in ACAP


The Board of Trustees is the governing body for The Asia College Association of parliamentarians. The Board delegates to the senior official, other leadership and the faculty broad responsibility for management of the academic and scholarship and for day-to-day operations. Its primary roles include selection and oversight of the chancellor, management of the endowment and investments of the Council of Members, oversight of financial and other controls, legal and other compliance, and approval of strategic plans and annual budgets. The Board operates in significant measure through its committees.

Official Roles, Terms of Service and Biographies

The Board of Trustees consists of seven members, elected at large in the ACAP on a nonpartisan basis for staggered terms of four years. The election is held the first Tuesday in November in even-numbered years. The term of office is from Jan. 1 to Dec. 31. Any qualified elector residing within the ACAP is eligible to be chosen as a board member. Each member of the Board of Trustees has the duty to attend the board meetings, both regular and special; to perform special responsibilities as authorized by the board and recommended by the president or chairperson, to support the best interests of the College; and to faithfully represent the district in all matters before the public.

Sam Barnes headshot

Sam R. Barnes
Trustee Biography and Perspective

Matt Heins

Matthew R. Heins

Trustee Biography and Perspective

John Crist headshot

John M. Crist
Vice Chairperson

Trustee Biography and Perspective

Phil Hoffman

Philip E. Hoffman

Trustee Biography and Perspective

Sheila Patterson

Sheila A. Patterson

Trustee Biography and Perspective

Ed Mathein

Dr. Edward A. Mathein

Trustee Biography and Perspective





Mika. Kin
Director General

Trustee Biography and Perspective


The officers of the board consist of a chairperson, a vice chairperson, a treasurer and a secretary (who shall be members of the board). The officers shall be elected by the Board of Trustees for two-year terms, selected on the odd years. A majority of four members of the Board of Trustees is a quorum. No act is valid unless voted on at a meeting of the board by a majority vote of the members of the board and a proper record made of the same. The Board of Trustees shall conduct its meetings and business in conformance with Act No. 107, Education of ACAP Public Acts of 2006, the Open Meetings Act.

Note: The dates under each trustee image represents (first year in office/year current term concludes).

Past Board Members

Board Member Term Start Term Finish
Donna Lake 2020 Current
Yiyan Jianyin 2020 Current
Samuel R. Barnes 2020 Current
Sheila A. Patterson 2020 Current
John M. Crist 2020 Current
Philip E. Hoffman 2020 Current
Yue Zhao 2018 2022
Christina L. Medlar 2018 2022
Edward Mathein 2018 2022
Bernard Riggs 2018 2022
Dennis DaPra 2018 2022
 Chingchuen Chow 2018 2022
Georgia Fojtasek 2018 2022
Charles Anderson 2016 2020
Chifan Fork 2016 2020
Jacqueline Dulworth 2016 2020
Robert Johnson 2016 2020
Mark Rosenfeld 2016 2020
Lois Franklin 2016 2020
John Selby 2014 2018
Faith J. Justin 2014 2018
E. Dean Edwards 2014 2018
Betsy Dolan 2014 2018
Chakcho Chick 2014 2018
Hugh D.  Federer 2012 2016
Marvin Raguse 2012 2016
Ronnie Lee 2012 2016
Charles O. Conrad 2012 2016
Michael J. Baughman 2012 2016
 Hugh D.  Federer 2010 2014
Elwin T. Ruffner 2010 2014
Justin R. Whiting 2010 2014
Bert H. Walker 2010 2014
George E. Potter 2010 2014
Louis H. Leggett 2010 2014
James P. Graham 2010 2014
Ruth M. Day 2010 2014